Feb 2, 2007, 7:13 PM
Post #6 of 44
We just moved here from the states, so we aren't establishing US residency. I was under the impression that one must have a state of residence, even when living out of country permanently. We just don't want to keep CA as that state. By the way, I was born in Texas, entered the military in Texas and even have family (though rather estranged) in Texas, so I feel Texas was a good choice. We also plan to visit the states once in awhile, so we need to keep current plates.
Re: [Bubba] Off to Laredo to Establish State Residency
Can't Post | Private Reply
Also, as far as this being a "scam", as long as non-resident US citizens with no property in the states are required to claim a "state of residence", we will be forced to pick a state to claim. Why not pick a state with no income taxes, since we don't benefit from the services they provide? We will be contributing in various ways here in Ajijic, where we now live.
These are the Texas Gov links I researched. Nowhere is there any mention of length of stay, use of PO boxes, etc. It is pretty clear cut and is a common practice for RVers. I will post the results of our expedition. Wish us luck!
There is also a link for a "New Residents Brochure".
Vehicle Requirements for New Residents –
Vehicle Title/Registration Process
- Get a vehicle inspection.
- After your vehicle passes inspection, take the inspection certification and proof of insurance (required by law) to your county tax office.
- Provide the vehicle's odometer reading if it is less than 10 years old.
- Present an original out-of-state title or current foreign/military ownership document. If your title is unavailable, take your registration document and proof of sales tax payment.
- Submit a vehicle title/registration form [pdf, 2 pages, 113kb].
- Pay the following for each vehicle you title/register:
- registration fee [pdf, 1 page, 943kb],
- title application fee of $28 or $33, depending on the county, and
- new resident tax of $90.
Additional fees may also be due at the time of registration. For more information, please contact your county tax office. For information about the new resident tax, please contact the Comptroller of Public Accounts.
You are not required to title or register your vehicle if you are a non-resident active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces, non-resident full-time student attending a Texas college or university.
For more information about the vehicle title/registration process, please call (512) 465-7611 or send us an e-mail.
Vehicle Requirements for New Residents
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/...ol/movingtotexas.htm Moving to Texas?
New residents moving into Texas, who have a valid driver license from their home state, have 30 days after entry into the state to secure a Texas driver license. To apply for a Texas driver license, applicants will be required to:
Applicants age 18 and over with a VALID out-of-state driver license
NOTE: If you have never been licensed or have an EXPIRED out-of-state license, you will be required to pass both the written and driving exams, in addition to a vision test.
The Elections Division of the Secretary of State’s Office is open from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. weekdays, and during the hours that the polls are open on all uniform election dates (2nd Saturday in May and 1st Tuesday after the 1st Monday in November). Statewide and federal elections (which are held in the months of March, April, and November). Answers to questions on election law and procedures may be obtained by telephoning the Elections Division toll-free at 1.800.252.VOTE (8683) or direct at 512.463.5650.
Thank you for your interest in Texas elections. Please call the Elections Division staff if we can be of assistance.
Who can vote in Texas?
To be eligible to register to vote in Texas, any United States citizen residing in Texas who is:
How do you register?
- At least 18 years old on Election Day
- Not a convicted felon (unless sentence, probation and/or parole are completed)
- Not declared mentally incompetent by a court of law
Registering to vote is easy in Texas . It doesn’t even require a stamp! Official applications to register to vote are postage-paid by the State of Texas .
In most Texas counties, the Tax Assessor-Collector is also the Voter Registrar. In some counties, the County Clerk or Elections Administrator registers voters. You may obtain an application from the county Voter Registrar’s office, the Secretary of State’s Office, libraries, many post offices, or high schools. From our website, you may request that we send you an official, postage-paid application. Or, you may download an informal application, but you will be required to affix a stamp before mailing. You may also register to vote when you apply for or renew your driver’s license.
Read the instructions on the form, fill it out and mail it, postage-free, to the Voter Registrar in your county, or take it to the Voter Registrar’s office in your county.
You must be at least 17 years and 10 months of age on the date you apply. If for any reason you cannot register yourself, with your permission, your spouse, parent or child may fill out and sign an application for you if that person is a registered voter or has applied for voter registration. This person is known as your "agent."
The application must be received in the Voter Registrar’s office or postmarked 30 days before an election in order for you to be eligible to vote in that election. You will receive a voter registration certificate in the mail after the Voter Registrar has processed your voter registration application. Upon receipt of the voter registration certificate, sign it, fold it and keep in it in your wallet and take it to the polls with you when you vote.
All voters who registered to vote in Texas must provide a Texas driver’s license number or personal identification number issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety. If you do not have such a number, then you must state that fact and provide the last four digits of your social security number. If you do not have a social security number, you must also state that fact.